What do you do when you’re sick of what you’re writing?

17 Mar

Pieter Claeszoon - Still Life with a Skull and...

Image via Wikipedia

Writing is a solitary occupation, and when you can’t find just the right word, or piece of information, it can be duly frustrating. And things can go downhill pretty fast from thereon.

That is indication to relax, take a break, and come back with a fresh mind.

I don’t always have the liberty of a prolonged deadline. But have learnt to make the most of the breaks I can afford into my schedule. A ride in the city tourer, browsing magazines at the library, or a walk on the bay front vent out the frumpy thoughts.

The article I would have taken another 2 hours to complete, had I tied myself to the desk, is now out of the door in 30 minutes. Moreover, I can now engage in another recreational activity. Works every time!

What do you do when you’re sick of what you’re writing?

2 Responses to “What do you do when you’re sick of what you’re writing?”

  1. Sonia M. March 17, 2011 at 3:51 pm #

    Down time is important. I give myself permission to procrastinate a little now and it helps me get back to my main project so much sooner and makes the writing so much more pleasant.

  2. kanchana April 15, 2011 at 7:00 am #

    I play with my dog. always a great stress buster! puts the smile back on my face asap. and refreshes my mind to return to back sans the frumpy mood!!

Leave a Reply

