Excogitation

2 Nov

 

 

 

It has been a while since I have left blogging to pursue other sensory pleasures of color and coolness as Autumn quickly drew to an end. The richness of nature, the icy winds and heightened senses led me to pursuecreative writing. I’ve taken up writing exercises on various forums which vent out subliminal anxieties in delightful pieces of work, I had thought myself incapable of rendering.

Plinky Prompts

In their own words

Plinky makes it easy for you to create inspired content. Every day we provide a prompt (i.e. a question or challenge) and you answer

How does Plinky, the tool for writer’s block, work?

Every day we provide a new prompt (like a question, or a challenge), and everyone gets a chance to answer.

If you are using WordPress, you can file your Plinky answers into blog posts. Here’s how to share your answer on your WordPress blog.

What Do You See?

Every week Richard Mansel posts a photograph. Study it, observe the person’s emotions, gestures, environment to create a situation for the character. Richard urges you to

Dig deeper than the superficial and see what is in their minds and hearts. Examine this photo and write 75 words or more/less to explain what you see. How would this scene work in a story? Ignite your imagination.

Character Study

Study a photograph for character development. Create details like name, age, hobbies, what they are thinking in that frozen moment. I quite enjoyed my exercise of creating Rubin. Check it out here.

Oh Life

This is more like a daily diary entry rather than a creative exercise. An email arrives in your mailbox each day at a predetermined time, asking you the simple question

How did your day go?

When I started writing here, I thought I would have nothing interesting to write everyday about my mundane life. But soon I began to notice things, and looked forward to the email prompt where I could describe in as much detail or a few awry words of how the day had come to pass.

Soon the entries I’d poured into, would boomerang back in a simplistic, yet encouraging email

Just reply to this email with your entry.
Oh snap, remember this? 53 days ago you wrote…

And the cherry on this pie is that its absolutely private. When I read back the entries, it reminds of the famous line

Life is like a novel with its end ripped out

What tools do you use to get yourself inspired when the muse is evasive? Let me know in the Comments.

3 Responses to “Excogitation”

  1. Richard Mansel November 2, 2010 at 11:45 pm #

    Thank you for the mention of my blog and writing exercises! That means a lot! I’m glad you enjoy them.

  2. Ollin November 3, 2010 at 1:09 am #

    Thanks for all the great links! Although I’ve never done well with prompts. But I’ll try! It should be fun.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Getting Noticed « The Moving Word - November 3, 2010

    […] the What Do You See? exercise. In fact, a writing site has mentioned these exercises in a blog post. Express Writer encourages their readers to come and participate in What Do You See? and Character Study each […]

Leave a Reply

